2018 Environmental Leaders Award

The Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Award is a joint effort of the Governor, Lt. Governor, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, and Iowa Department of Natural Resources to recognize the exemplary voluntary efforts of Iowa’s farmers as environmental leaders committed to healthy soils and improved water quality.

  • Joe Bormann (‘02 agronomy) and Val Weis (‘03 ag business) of Algona
  • Eric Cherne (‘96 ag studies) and Scott Cherne (‘06 ag studies) of Guttenburg
  • Steve Copenhaver (‘89 animal science) of Independence
  • Heath Deyoung (‘02 ag studies) of Pocahontas
  • Al Frederick (‘74 animal science) of Jefferson
  • Jacob Hackman (‘17 ag business) of Ft. Atkinson
  • Jim Howell (‘60 ag and life sciences education farm operation) and Tom Howell (‘90 ag business) of Columbus Junction
  • Brian Keehner (‘03 agronomy) of Bernard
  • Adam Nechanicky (‘04 ag systems technology) of Buckingham
  • Tom Smith (‘80 farm operation) and Mark Smith (‘86 animal science, ‘91 DVM) and Ethan Smith (‘16 agronomy) of Storm Lake
  • Gene Tinker (‘84 ag and life sciences education) of Ankeny
  • Thomas Vincent (‘83 farm operation) of Perry
  • Michael Wayson (‘05 ag studies) of Mt. Auburn
  • Charles R. Wearda (‘76 ag business) of Hampton
  • Darrell Weems (‘71 agronomy) of Adel
  • Clark Whitaker (‘77 ag business) of Hillsboro