Floyd Andre Award

This citation honors a College of Agriculture and Life Sciences alumnus who has made outstanding contributions to production agriculture, agricultural business or has had a significant impact on Iowa agriculture. Iowa State University faculty members are not eligible for this award. Selection is made by the Dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.

This award was established in 1978 and is presented annually during Iowa State University’s Homecoming Weekend. Click here for the nomination form. Nominations are due the third Tuesday in November.

2020 Floyd Andre Awardee

Jeff Plagge (’78 agricultural business )
Spirit Lake, Iowa

photo of Jeff Plagge standing by stairs

Jeff Plagge’s impressive career spans more than 40 years and has positively impacted all levels of Iowa’s banking industry. In 2019, Plagge was appointed superintendent of the Iowa Division of Banking by Iowa Governor Kim Reynolds. In this role, Plagge leads the regulation of all state-chartered banks and has regulatory and licensing authority over Iowa lenders, mortgage businesses, real estate appraisers and appraisal management companies.

A respected leader, Plagge has served as chief executive officer of four Iowa banking organizations, ranging in asset size from $92 million to $2.4 billion. In 2020, Plagge retired from his most recent role as chief executive officer of Northwest Financial Corporation, a family-owned bank holding company based out of Arnolds Park, Iowa.

Plagge’s expertise has been sought after at a national level via service on boards and committees for the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, American Bankers Mutual Insurance, Sheltered Harbor, The Clearing House, and the American Bankers Association. Locally, his service includes leadership positions on the boards of Delta Dental of Iowa, the American Red Cross Central Iowa Chapter, and the Iowa Banker’s Association. He currently serves on the board of directors for Northwest Financial Corporation and its subsidiaries.

Plagge’s distinctive service has earned recognition with the prestigious American Bankers Association Bruning Award, the Iowa Bankers Association James A. Leach Award, and the BankBeat Banker of the Year Award.

A dedicated Cyclone, Plagge is a life member of the Iowa State University Alumni Association and has served as president of the board of trustees for the Iowa State University Agricultural Endowment.

Past Recipients